ACC Award of Distinction

ACC Award of Distinction

This award recognizes an organization, institution, corporation, or individual who has made significant contributions to the field of craft with a minimum of 25 years of service. Past winners include:


1985  Alexander and Susan Girard
1988  John Hauberg
1988  Rose Slivka
1992  Karen Johnson Boyd
1992  Samuel Johnson
1994  James Plaut
1996  Laurie Hall
1998  Edward Larrabee Barnes
2002  Lisa Blackburn
2002  John Hartom
2002  Bernard Kester
2008  Helen Williams Drutt English
2009  Michael W. Monroe
2012  Sidney D. Rosoff


1993  Philip Morris Companies Inc.


1987  Contemporary Crafts Gallery (now Contemporary Crafts Museum & Gallery) (Portland, OR)
1992  National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts (Bandon, OR)
1992  Southern Highland Craft Guild (Asheville, NC)
1993  League of New Hampshire Craftsmen Foundation (Concord, NH)
1993  Pewabic Society Inc. (Detroit, MI)
1995  Glass Art Society (Seattle, WA)
1995  USIA Arts America (Washington DC)
1997  Craft Alliance (St. Louis, MO)
1997  John Michael Kohler Arts Center (Sheboygan, WI)
1997  The Renwick Gallery, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Smithsonian Institution (Washington, DC)
1997  The Society of Arts and Crafts (Boston, MA)
1998  Artist-Blacksmith's Association of North America, Inc. (Washington, MO)
1998  Embroiderers' Guild of America, Inc. (Louisville, KY)
1999  Greenwich House Pottery Center for Ceramics (New York, NY)
2001  Archie Bray Foundation for the Ceramic Arts (Helena, MT)
2002  The Handweavers Guild of America (Duluth, GA)
2002  The Society of North American Goldsmiths (Missoula, MT)
2014  The Clay Studio (Philadelphia, PA)
2016  CERF+ (Montpelier, VT)
2018  Contemporary Craft (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)


1986  Everson Museum of Art (Syracuse, NY)
1987  Corning Museum of Glass (Corning, NY)
1995  Craft & Folk Art Museum (Los Angeles, CA)
1996  Wharton Esherick Museum (Paoli, PA)
2000  The Textile Museum (Washington, DC)


1985  Cranbrook Academy of Art (Bloomfield Hills, MI)
1987  Haystack Mountain School of Crafts (Deer Isle, ME)
1987  Penland School of Crafts (Penland, NC)
1988  New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University (Alfred, NY)
1994  School for American Crafts (Rochester, NY)
1995  Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts (Gatlinburg, TN)
1995  Pilchuck Glass School (Seattle, WA)
1996  Anderson Ranch Arts Center (Snowmass Village, CO)
1996  Pottery Northwest (Seattle, WA)
1997  California College of Arts and Crafts (now California College of the Arts) (San Francisco, CA)
1997  Oregon College of Art & Craft (Portland, OR)
2000  John C. Campbell Folk School (Brasstown, NC)
2003  Rhode Island School of Design (Providence, RI)
2003  The University of the Arts (Philadelphia, PA)


1983  Kodansha International (New York, NY)
1985  Larry Winn, Winn Publishing (Seattle, WA)
1986  Gerry Williams (Dumbarton, NH)
1988  The Crafts Report (Wilmington, DE)
1988  Boston Museum of Fine Arts (Boston, MA)
1990  M. C. Richards (Uniondale, PA)
1993  Ceramics Monthly (Columbus, OH)